Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

The answer to all our woes?

Well I woke up today, Brexit +1, and the world hasn't ended, in fact today was much like yesterday so long may that continue.
I spotted this new arrival in Frederick Street, perhaps cuddling a chihuahua is the answer to all our problems…?

I had a lovely lazy morning I've got one biggish outstanding task to do before I go away and I hope to do that tonight.
Colin and I walked down to the strangely traffic free Stockbridge at lunchtime. The works seem to be ahead of schedule though and the bridge is open again which means you can now turn right from Dean Street and over the bridge, (and vice versa) which must be a help. There are three infamous 4 way traffic lights to contends with though.
We bumped into a friend outside Waitrose and dragged her up to Bon Papillon with us for a bowl of soup, lovely to catch up with all her news. I've been missing Bon Papillon as it has been closed for the owners' annual Winter holiday and only reopened this week. We seem to have missed Hazelh and Mr Hazelh this time by a whisker which was a shame.
I walked slowly back down to Stockbridge pausing at Aesop for a free squidge of hand cream, while Colin took a different route and walked home. I picked up a few things in the shops to take out to India with me, so that was good.
Just as I reached the west end of Raeburn Place the heavens opened, and just at that same moment Colin phoned because it was raining and offered me a lift home. Good man.
After dinner I set to, to write a newsletter update to send out to Cursillo folks. That took me most of the evening so I decided to finish off with a relaxing bath. I was cleaning my teeth afterwards, ready for bed when an enormous filling came out of one of my teeth, accompanied by most of the rest of the tooth - not even the one which caused me problems a couple of weeks ago and still needs to be resolved.
Why does it always happen to me? I have a pathological and completely irrational fear of the dentist! I know it won't hurt but I just hate it. I fear this signals the end of that tooth, but even worse it means that I'm going to have to go back to the dentist for the 4th Monday out of 5 to see if anything can be done in the short term. I can't face having it taken out and the ensuing potential difficulties while travelling that that might cause. I guess it's good it happened before I went away.... She says, desperately trying to find the good in it!
One blessing of being a traveller is that I carry an emergency dental kit with me and so I've managed to put a temporary filling in until I can get to the dentist on Monday.
I don't suppose I can blame that on Brexit either!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.