The Way I See Things

By JDO

Reasons to be cheerful

I woke up in such a bad mood this morning that I thought I might as well wash the car. I must admit, pearly grey suits it rather better than brown, though on the minus side, several chips and scuffs have now appeared from under the filth that I could happily have done with not knowing about. I fear that, much as I love it, the little beast doesn't entirely suit my lifestyle.

After I'd dried out a bit I looked at the weather - sunny but windy - and decided that it probably wasn't an owl day. So I zoomed sparklingly up to Hillers. A couple of chilly hours in the hide took my mind off everything horrid, put me in a serene mood, and bagged me a score of quite nice images. I've chosen this one because it has a dynamic tension that I really like, though I could easily have gone for a coal tit, or a wren. I've put a sequence of the nuthatch taking a drink from the pond on Facebook, if you're interested.

I swear though, one day I'm going to go up there with an extendable tree lopper in my back pocket, and cut back that irritating elder branch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.