chiaroscuro

By Chiaroscuro

Beautiful little fellow.

Today Cecile came over to have lunch with us. Heinrich is back from Germany, but he is still in Pretoria, slaving away!

After lunch, as I said goodbye to her, moments before she pulled out, this little fellow came from underneath the Landrover, taking rather long strides, as I think he must have known that it was not the safest place to be!
If it were a second or two later, I dread to think what his fate might have been.

So I picked him up and realized that my blip for the day has just presented and revealed itself to me.

He is a Cape Dwarf Chameleon (Bradypodion pumilum), native to the South African province of the Western Cape.

This image is perhaps not the favorite of the lot, but I decided to use it in order to show his size. So with one hand I held Mr Cutie and with the other, I tried to blip!

He was safely put into a large tree where he immediately changed his outfit to correspond with the soft green colors of the leaves ...


This poem, I thought, was very apt:


Chameleon

by Elaine Magliaro



Changes suits to suit

His locus. Abracadabra! Hocus-pocus! He's

A clever

Master of disguise! a trickster who can fool the

Eyes! This

Lizard with a fashion flair takes his wardrobe

Everywhere. Predators don't stop

Or stare.

No one even knows he's there.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.