Rock

On a thoroughly wet day I decided to stay indoors and practice my macro technique mess about. This is a close-up of a pebble collected from a beach on Iona many years ago. They used to quarry marble there at one time, and I thought it might be marble.

It took some time to get my flash working with focus stacking. Two of the essential settings were rather obscure, and in the end I had to read the manual :-(. It was harder than I expected to get oblique lighting on a small object with the flash - either the light was flat (as here) or part of the rock was completely dark. I'll have to think some more.

 Other lessons learnt:
(a) I can't judge sharpness by looking at the camera screen,
(b) the cheap Rollei-branded mini-tripod I bought isn't just useless for some things, it's useless for everything.

See the extra for a shot of my setup. It works reasonably well, although I have no idea if it is optimal. The table top tripod shown here isn't the rubbish one, but an FLM one that I'm very pleased with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.