The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Capsules and catkins

I was initially drawn to the moss capsules that had water droplets clinging to them, but then I discovered this landscape in miniature with out of focus hazel catkins in the background. There was a time when I would have known what species of moss this one is with its nodding capsules and their red setae, but that was a long time ago, and I've spent too much time in between as a desk jockey. A skill to be rediscovered perhaps now that there is supposedly time?

Does anyone learn about mosses and liverworts at school any more, or even at university? The life cycle of Funaria hygrometrica was a staple of biology O level when I was a lad, and I was fascinated by the alternation of generations between the leafy gametophyte and the spore--producing leafless sporophyte (the capsule and its stalk here). 

It was another damp and overcast day, good weather for most mosses and liverworts, which is why so many species thrive in our oceanic climate here in Cumbria.

In the afternoon Wifie went to see Little Women and Gus and I watched the England:France game. The second half tantalised with possibilities of what might have been, but ultimately the game was won in the first half.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.