wrperry

By wrperry

Free Range Chickens

The Puerto Rican island of Vieques is rural, with potholed dirt roads, and a wildlife refuge that covers half the island.  It has a charm all its own.  Its people are warm and welcoming, making it increasingly attractive for mainland American retirees to spend the winter months.  I can truly say I made friends there, during my short six day visit.  Several spend the warmer months of the year on Cape Cod, so perhaps I will see them again after all.
My point in bringing up the rural character was really to describe the numerous chickens that have their run of the island.  They are everywhere. My host asked me to take a photo that she can use to paint a watercolor, a new hobby of hers.  I wanted to get a shot of one anyway, so here it is.  I look forward to seeing it in paint.
Thanks for checking in on my photos during my trip.  I am now home and ready to get back into the daily routine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.