Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Rock, stock and two..

..concrete blocks.
My day today has consisted of pigeons and plans to get rid of the very decrepid garden shed (one for DS perhaps?)

First the pigeons.  Where I have begun throwing peanuts out the front for the squirrels I am now getting small groups of pigeons wandering about trying their luck..  Over half of them are white, or partially so.  In the evening I see them from my bedroom window roosting on a line of house roofs just by the green and have wondered if they got left behind when the Abbot was kicked out of his farmhouse a few metres away..  This one was all white.  Rather a love, I thought, though I had a little trouble finding out exactly what kind of dove it was.  Have settled on Domesticated Rock Dove - not the Stock Dove I initially thought. Columba livia domestica.

The other half of my day has been starting to work out how to get shot of the terrible shed.  I'm not replacing it, what tools I need (not many for my small garden) will live behind the fold-out screen in the unused conservatory .As well as the shed, there are huge broken blocks of concrete to dispose of.  How nice it will be when they're gone!

And that's about it for me - except that yesterday Sis brought me over her copy of Tracy Chevalier's novel, A Single Thread.  I don't read many novels, but it's set in Winchester in the 1930's, which is amusing me and in the last 24 hours I've read half of it.  Good fun.

Have a happy evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.