Blowing Reeds

A lovely bright day most of the time. It was very wind and very cold though. I went up to the moor and was pleased to see that the single parking space just a little way after Hay Tor was empty so I pulled in there.

I had a little wander around looking for different viewpoints and foreground interest. Feeling how cold it was I didn't intend to go far or stay out too long. I liked this boggy patch with a clump of reeds bending over in the wind with the mass of Hay Tor behind.

A few days ago I noticed on iPlayer a programme called 'All Aboard! New Zealand by Rail Sea and Land'. It's an odd programme made up of footage from a train going down from Auckland  to Wellington then after the ferry crossing it carries on down South Island to Milford Sound and then by boat out to the mouth. The scenery of course is breathtaking but the pictures trundling along must be of limited interest especially as it goes on for two and a half hours with no commentary, just the occasional descriptive titles of the places it passes through and a few facts about the places passed. 
it's a long watch so we broke it down into two sessions and I found it strangely gripping, especially when following roads that we'd driven on when we visited. I wouldn't recommend it to everyone as entertainment but I'm sure there are others who'll find it as riveting as I did. I did all the driving on our trip so it was good to be able to enjoy the scenery from my armchair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.