Cancer survivor

The nurse hugged me after my last RT today.  When I stepped out from the radiation therapy room number 6, I almost had tears in my eyes and I had light feeling in my heart. 

Took the photo when we left the hospital: a reflection on the hospital wall.

My cancer journey hasn't been easy, but now I can congratulate myself being a cancer survivor. At least at this moment I am. 

-On Monday 22 April 2019 I asked occupational health doctor's opinion if I should  get a mammogram. Please remember: breast cancer is not always a lump!! 
-On Monday 29 April I got mammogram and ultrasound, I was told right away that it is cancer.
-I got the fist chemotherapy on Wednesday 12 June and the sixth/last one on Thursday 3 October.
-I had a surgery on Tuesday 5 November.
-I was given radiation therapy 25 times from Monday 30 December to Tuesday 4 February. 

Everything went like planned; no extra hospital visits, I didn't caught even a flu. My wonderful husband has given me all support I have needed. I highly appreciate his efforts for me. He was with me in every oncologist visit and in every chemotherapy treatments. I have been able to rest as much as I have needed. He supported and cheered me when I was in my lowest points. He has been my rock. A big thanks also to Emma and Leevi, they have been caring and wonderful in every way.

I still need to visit the hospital every three weeks to get Herceptin injections. In addition, anti hormonal medication for the next five years is also a part of my cancer treatment package.

Today is World Cancer Day, how appropriate. I hope that you, my reader,  won't ever get a cancer.  


-6°C, sunny!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.