dreaming

By dreaming

Nostalgia

My car engine has been running rather loudly since the alternator was replaced, so this morning I took it back to the shop to see if they could find the cause and fix it (they couldn't hear anything abnormal.)  While waiting for answers, I waited in the office of the shop.  When I first brought the car in, the elderly man there said he'd inherited the shop from his father, who'd inherited it from his own father.  It's a longstanding family business in which they take a lot of pride.  Nostalgia is the theme of the decor there and it's full of old auto advertisements and memorabilia.  On the shelf you can also see a photo from a news article when the store opened and a very old radio.

It was another really icy day today.  When I left the shop I drove up to Trader Joe's to stock up on their no-salt-added canned tuna and perhaps pick up some tulips.  But it started snowing just as I was getting out of the car and I decided to just go home and avoid the weather.  Turned out to be a mistake - the snow quickly stopped and it's been clear all afternoon.  I think that will be it for snow for a while, as tomorrow's high is forecast to be 13 degrees higher than today.  Meanwhile I'm wearing heavy knee socks, leggings, a turtleneck, and a heavy sweater over that - I'd be wearing gloves too if I could get any housework done with them on. The deficiencies of electric baseboard heating are really evident.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.