Miss Saigon

Jill and I went to downtown Pittsburgh this evening to see "Miss Saigon" at the Benedum Center for the Performing Arts. This Broadway musical is the one that got me into theater and musicals. I first learned about it in a college theater class in 2000. The instructor of the theater class I was in had just seen it on campus and talked about it a bit. I researched it and listened to the soundtrack. Despite my falling in love with it, I had never gotten to see it.

Until tonight! Before the show, we got dinner at a pierogi place called Stuff'd Pierogi Bar. We got preshow drinks too. The drinks were expensive ($14 for my old fashioned). We got to the theater during happy hour, and drinks were half off. We could have just drank there!

The show was amazing and wonderful and sad. But I loved it. The last Broadway musical I saw was "Oklahoma" in 2005. I can't believe I've waited so long to see another. Baltimore and Pittsburgh also get Broadway shows and are two hours away. New York is five hours away. I think this is the beginning of seeing plenty of shows!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.