Life of Tiree

By tireedawson

Patchwork Tractor

Had a good family walk out this afternoon over at Hampsfell, Cartmel. It was totally freezing, despite a thousand layers and Summer's complaints of *I have too many clothes on I can't walk my legs* we had an adventure. We passed two wonderful farms, which reminded me that I need to re-focus on my project of photographing farms in the Lake District. I don't think they get many families walking past at this time of year and they were very friendly, telling us all about the animals and allowing Milo and Summer to help feed the pigs. The mother was a 2011 Champion Oxford Sandy and Black, and we all marvelled at the way she had churned up a good 20 feet of solidly frozen footpath using just her soft fleshy snout.

On the way back down we came across this tractor, apparently almost as old as the farmer himself, which had been treated to a rather attractive handmade patchwork quilt to see it through the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.