Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

A new addition

I wonder if you can guess the new addition to my swimming kit today.  It is the arm bands. Sue recommended them yesterday to put around my ankles and do my walking and hip exercises with them on. It was an interesting experience as of course all my legs wanted to do was float, and one of the exercises is to put a float under my bad leg and try and raise it up and down without the float pinging off. I used my swim keel, which is weighted at the small end. The idea is that it can be used for kicking, or either way as a pull buoy. With the smaller weighted end it destabilises me in the water so the core works harder to swim “normally”.  Sometimes I use it that way between my ankles too which is even more destabilising and harder work. 

I did get some strange looks from the three blokes when I got into the fast lane with my arm bands. It didn’t last long though when I caught them up!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.