Snowyjones12334

By Snowyjones

Found some wind then

Oh, for a hair band. This is me at the Southern most point of the South Island and boy was it fresh and also completely exhilarating. Nearer to the South Pole than to the equator which seems a long way down somehow. This morning I set my alarm so I could be on the beach before sunrise in the hope I might see the penguins. No joy on that front but it sure was nice watching the sun come up and discovering that there was a fossilised Jurassic forest beneath the cliffs with the ancient logs and tree stumps being hammered by the full force of the waves.
This is the notorious Foveaux Straight which runs along the coast here and about which Captain Cook wrote ‘there was no standing upon legs without the assistance of hands’. With high winds set to continue I think I may skip breakfast before setting out on my catamaran journey across to Steward island tomorrow morning. On the plus side I may see some albatross soaring effortlessly in the breeze which would more than make up for the discomfort I am imagining.
Will be hiking the Rakiura great walk for a couple of days so am very excited about it and all the things I might see but an early start so will sign off now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.