Light & sight

By CameronDP

Roof of the world

Well, blipmates, I haven't really been anywhere today so I hope you will forgive an indoor blip. This picture has hung on my living room wall pretty much since the day I moved in. It shows the roof of the world and I've never gotten bored of looking at it.
Back when I first moved here I'd developed an appetite for books about high altitude mountaineering. It all started when I heard my then boss raving about a film called 'Touching The Void'. I went to see it myself, my jaw dropped, I bought the book, and before I knew it I was reading tome after tome and watching almost every DVD I could get my hands on about mountain climbing.
Of course I moved on to other things eventually but I still go back from from time to time. When May rolls around I'll almost certainly be buying this book on day one, for example. And I've never taken down that picture.
Maybe this is one of my odder interests!
I once played my 'Touching the Void' DVD to a girlfriend. She was, frankly, underwhelmed. Even baffled. I didn't really have any reason to think the film would necessarily be her kind of thing, but I still thought 'dang....' We broke up the following year. Coincidence? I'm not so sure. To be fair to her, though, tales of derring-do on distant mountain tops are probably always going to be that bit more of a boy thing....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.