WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

We drove up to Scotland this morning. We hadn't seen the 'Baird's' (my daughter and family) for 2 months as they went to New Zealand for Christmas.
There was much excitement when we arrived - the girls practically throwing themselves at us for hugs and kisses and saying they've missed us. They make my heart swell. My, how they have they grown!
Amelia is nearly 8 and Lucy 4 1/2.

I went with Sabrina and Amelia to the ice rink so I could see how Amelia is progressing. She is practicing for ice skating exams and her first competition in April which takes place in Blackpool.

She's been skating not quite 2 years and although I am obviously biased - she is amazing and so confident. She takes everything in her stride and if she falls just gets up, dust's herself down and gets on with it. No embarrassment or tears. One thing I love about her is that she isn't 'showoffy' and doesn't think she is anything special. She's simply doing what she loves
and will help other kids when she can.

The main Blip is her holey skating tights which are really thick and cover the boots completely. She needs new ones as these have suffered a fair bit of wear and tear!

The photos are not the best because she was moving quite fast. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.