The Bunnet Stane

I was out taking photographs for my forthcoming book today. We'd headed up to the Bunnet Stane in Fife and a few minutes after taking this photograph disaster struck! I took a tumble, heard a crack and my ankle had broken!

There was nobody else around except F and I. The only way back to the car was to walk. Over the next hour, I hobbled over muddy and uneven ground for around half a mile with what was later to be diagnosed as a clean break on the outside of my left ankle.

When people tell you that a career as a freelance photographer is going to be amazing the reality can be a wee bit different. I'm now off my feet for six weeks so it's impossible to run my photography workshops. I will struggle to do any press work as I am unable to drive with a moon boot on my left leg. I do have savings which will get me through but those would have been much better to spend on fun things than living. If anyone is in need of Lightroom and Photoshop lessons over the next six weeks in Edinburgh, then I am your man!

Despite all this, the Bunnet Stane is pretty special to look at, especially as the sun popped over the top of West Lomond just as we arrived to light it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.