Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Weight loss journey 09022020 - consolidation!!!


Weekly progress report: consolidation not weight gain and am happy
Starting weight (25 May 2018 = 273lb)
Today’s weight = 187.0 lb
Average weight last week = 186.8 lb
Average weight this week = 187.2 lb
Weight gain this week = 0.4 lb
Note: I weigh every day first thing and calculate weight loss based on average weight for the week.

“Since starting my weight loss journey my Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR) has lowered by more than 350 Kcals a day. An achievement one might say, and so it is, but an “undesirable” consequence of this is that my body requires less food in its resting state. As a result I require less energy for any given activity and burn fewer calories for any given exercise. This makes it more difficult for me to loose weight without adjusting my diet and exercise regime. This is the reason why it has been more difficult for me to maintain the rate of weight loss that I achieved earlier in my weight loss journey . To do so I would have to eat less food (the equivalent of 100 grams less carbohydrates) and maintain exercise levels or continue eating the same amount of food but exercise more (the equivalent of another hour a day on the treadmill). Another complicating factor is that as I get leaner and fitter my heart rate does not rise to the same level during exercise, as it used t, and this means that I burn less calories during exercise irrespective of my BMR.”

This is what I wrote with my Blipfoto for Thursday. My instructor/trainer Shams was not impressed and thought my Blipfoto entry was depressing and gave the wrong message to readers. She wrote:

“I understand the frustration, Ronald Don but I feel this may well be seen in a totally different way. You’ve lost the required weight from your starting point (would you rather be at a higher BMR and be plus 8 stone again?), so what you’re describing is a win. And saying “Another complicating factor is that as I get leaner and fitter my heart rate does not rise to the same level during exercise as it used to” is another way of literally saying ‘I am now a lot more cardio fit and able to maintain higher level of activity without endangering my heart’. The essence of fitness should be health and a clear awareness of the benefit of movement not numbers. I challenge you to stop monitoring your activity on calories for a week and just notice other life gains: walking up stairs without panting, regular exercise classes (and an increase in their number), increased strength with weights and body-weight training, and just have fun being a moving and well body! It’s not guaranteed and it’s not forever.”

My Blipfoto was not meant to be depressing and was meant to help those who are plateauing on their weight loss journeys as I explained to Shams:

“This was not the message I was trying to portray Shams Tadsana; the post was meant to give encouragement and support to those who are on a weight loss journey and find themselves in the position where they have plateaued and are finding it hard to accept (and some (not me!!) are depressed about it) since in terms of diet and exercise nothing has changed from the time they were loosing weight. This can lead to yo-yo dieting and can result in some ending up heavier and less healthy than they were when they started their weight loss journey.
Those with a “scientific” mind want to find an explanation for this and it was an analysis of my BMR and heart rate during exercise that gave me this.
Now I know why I have plateaued and am in a maintenance phase in terms of my weight puts me in a better mindset. I know why and I also know what I would need to do if I want to loose further weight.
I wanted to share this explanation (good news) with others who are in the same position in their weight loss journey.
There is no way I want to return to my previous self and every day am thankful for the transformation that has taken place since I started my journey in terms of health, fitness and wellbeing. I enjoy my healthier diet and look forward to (rather than dread) exercise and classes at the Peak where I have as much fun as the sweat that I loose (and that’s loads). Another added benefit is that my weight loss has allowed me to revert to my younger sociable self - my weight and body image before I started my journey was making me into somewhat of a recluse.
Part of my enjoyment is my logging and analysing my progress: that’s just the scientist in me”

I am pleased to say that Shams was able to see my Blipfoto in a different light after reading my explanation:
“Ronald Don I gotcha now, totally misunderstood what you meant. We communicate very differently you and I. I’m glad the knowledge of slowed down BMR and logging everything is helping you. Oh, btw, today’s lunch was kale and potato in a wee omelette thing mostly donated by you. Thanks.”

So this week I put on 0.4lb but I’m not depressed about it and regard it as another bit of consolidation rather than weight gain as the trend is still negative for the last month. I’m still eating well and healthily and enjoying it and don’t want to cut down. I am still exercising for as much time as available and again tested myself to the limits at Core Conditioning and Circuits classes on Saturday morning – glad to say that I had company of fellow Fit4Lifer John White this Saturday as we could laugh at each other moans, groans and botched attempts. I have to accept that I am fitter, healthier and trimmer now and don’t burn as many calories during exercise as I used to for all the right reasons. Progress to reach my target weight will be slow from now on but I’m determined to do it without any quick fixes.

I hope you all have had a good week and your scales are encouraging for you at your weigh ins.



Sent from my iPhone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.