MitchHamilton

By MitchHamilton

Sound of an Angel

The Ice Magic Festival wrapped up today at Lake Louise and the awards were handed out. Although this sculpture finished 3rd, it was my favourite. When I went out to photograph the sculptures I didn't consider that it would be so busy. I had my 45mm on my camera, which is a 90mm with the crop factor, a VERY tight focal length to shoot this kind of stuff without getting people in the way.

This is actually a 16 image stitch that I took from about 10 feet away from the sculpture. The image it produced is 80mb far too large for posting to BLIPFOTO, but the detail present in the original allows you to zoom up on any portion of the sculpture and see every little carving, the ring on her finger, the sharp edge of the violin bow, very nice stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.