Riyadh, day 2

Makkah, Mecca, however you write it.. one very special place for Muslims. And one of a handful of historic sites in Saudi Arabia. There’s more here than I realised.

Lazy morning, nice hotel breakfast followed by a walk. I went the wrong way.. walked past a very huge Ritz Carlton hotel, past the King’s dewaneya (meeting place) and ended up near a grand government building complete with typical levels of Middle East security. I caused a bit of a stir - lost Western woman.. we chatted briefly, I retraced my steps, past my hotel, over the road past this sign and onto DQ - the Diplomatic Quarter. This is where many Westerners live with no dress code restrictions, and some loud music. Haram (prohibited) anywhere else. There was also a nice area with coffee shops and outdoor seating which was recommended. A nice place to hang out and people watch, complete with good coffee. I had to pass two security checkpoints and a tank to get in; the second of which demanded to know what I was doing, and to see my passport. How nonchalantly I walk through and past these checkpoints now.

The driver collected me a while later and took me to the airport. Are you coming again he asked. My reply - insha’allah (God willing), to which he replied insha’allah.

Cleared immigration, after being fingerprinted and a fifty minute flight and I was back in Kuwait. Immigration grumbled at me, I hadn’t been away long enough.. but they let me in.

A bus home, unpacked and relaxed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.