TC

By TC

Currently reading this book that my dad lent me. It's a collection of short stories by Ray Bradbury an American author.

I've read the majority of the book (only 2 stories left) and on the whole I don't think it's one I'd recommend. Ray Bradbury is certainly a very eloquent author and probably up there with the best if them in terms of his descriptions and evoking an emotion - but a lot of the stories are a bit lack lustre. I found myself thinking "and..." or "so what!?!"

I don't think it's symptomatic of short stories as many other authors nail them with out a problem (Roald Dahl, Arthur Conan Doyle, etc). Many just felt like an exert from a longer story that didn't quite get there. Mr Ramirez sticks out as a particular point.

There we're however a few gems, such as Frost and Fire - pure classic fantasy sci-fi.

Maybe I'll try one of his longer works and see what that's like before I write him off completely - that seems a little unfair after all. If you have any recommendations, let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.