Start

The day dawned crisp and cloudless. A simply sublime Central Otago day and a perfect day for a bike race through the back country!

This year the Motatapu had around 3000 participants - just huge! 2300 mountain bikers and 600 marathon runners doing 55KM through some of the most stunning scenery you could image.

I tossed up taking my SLR and decided not too due to weight, instead I took my phone and snapped this shot at the start. I didn't stop until the end, so no photos of this magnificent county.

The race went pretty well despite a severe lack of training. So I went well, but not nearly as well as what I could have, but I still posted a respectable time of 3 hours 21, which I was relatively pleased with.

It's fair to say with that number of people it's a busy race course ... which did detract a little, especially with some many people stopping to cross the rivers or the short sharp hill climbs. Next year I will start further forward and try and get in front he all the recreational riders.

The rest of the crew did well. One of the guys at work was 12 minutes in front, the husband of a co-worker was a few minutes behind, Mrs PS came in at 4.05 (but did have a good crash - nothing too major) and my friend was a little further behind ? but goo on him for competing and finishing. Next year I will compete again for sure.

Then back across to Wanaka (from Arrowtown) via the Cardrona pub, and a great BBQ and lovely wine and evening with my Aunt and friends.

Sublime!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.