The second half of life..

By twigs

Firstly, a huge thank you to everyone who commented on, starred or favourited my blips for the past 2 days.  Having had very intermittent internet connection for much of the time at Moeraki, it was a lovely surprise to find big numbers sitting in the red notification/comments icons when I could eventually log in.  I have Hilary to thank for much of the referral having linked one of my images from her page - big thanks to you hilarysview, and thanks for your kind words too.

So much for considering that I may have made another Moeraki sunrise shoot.......I slept pretty soundly for almost 10 hours last night so I figured I must have needed it.  Had a quick chat to Yvonne to thank her for her hospitality then tootled off with no clear plan as to exactly what I was doing or where I was going.  As seems to have become my norm, I had my usual second cup of coffee away from the place I'd stayed at and today this was not far away at Kakanui.  It was lovely to sit out in the sun overlooking the mighty Pacific and just be.  Lovely.

On the domestic front I needed to attend to pretty much a 'full house' of services......dump station, fresh water, gas and fuel.  Fortunately, Oamaru is an easy town to get around and so it was very straightforward.  When the gas man asked me where I was heading I replied, totally truthfully, that I still didn't know.  I would either head straight up the coast and head towards home or I would turn left and head to Mt Cook and surrounds for a few days.  He pointed out that either way, I would have to head north along SH1 so I had about 7kms of driving to the turn off to Mt Cook to decide.  Even as I arrived at the turn-off I still didn't know........a little more figuring with map in hand and Mt Cook won.....

So here I am, forty five minutes drive up the Waitaki Valley at Kurow campground.  As I said when I checked in, all I really want is power and a shower and now they're both attended to, along with the van's renewed services, I feel totally ready in every respect for a few days exploring in and around the Mt Cook area.  I bought a book when I was there last year for some inspiration.......I wonder if I'll be able to find some myself with the book's help?  Time will tell......

And today's blip pic...?  I took it thinking of friends who do a lot of cycling as an encouragement to consider this trail.  Whilst the cyclists start at the [Southern] Alps end and finish here in Oamaru at the Pacific Ocean, my journey is about to be Ocean 2 Alps, thanks to a grunty wee motor in the van.  Soooo much easier on the bum to do it this way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.