Uplighter

The Queens hotel in Leeds is delightful. Lots of deco decoration and detail. 

After a day of conference the trip home was a bit of a faff. The trains run every 30 minutes but the one before the one we were all aiming for was cancelled. Thus, at the appointed time, there was a scrum to get on and it was clear that there were far more people than seats. I bailed out to wait for half an hour. That train arrived and I got a seat at a table and after one stop I had the table to myself. Updates from the train in front were that colleagues were sitting on the floor. My train arrived within 10 minutes of the first train but it was just too tight to get the next connection to Strood - once again I'm running 30 minutes behind a colleague who is also going to Maidstone. So I'm sending this from a Javelin at St Pancras International which will set off shortly to race along the river before diving under it just past the Dartford crossing. We'll stop at Gravesend before going through the old canal tunnel to Strood where I'll jump on a little DMU for the last leg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.