GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

The Lough

Around a few corners from my family home is the Lough, a beautiful shallow freshwater lake, which is formed by the water from an underground river.

The Lough is populated by swans, geese, mallards, and a wide variety of other birds, and eel, tench, and perch lurk under the water. The large numbers of carp, in particular, make the place very popular for anglers, who often set up tents and camp overnight.

People from the surrounding communities come to the Lough to speedwalk, jog, play football, or swing on the swings in the playground (the only one of those activities I tend to partake in). I love the beautiful trees, a few of which were planted by my grandparents in the 1980s.

Apparently, the Lough is one of Ireland's oldest protected sites, having been declared Public Wildlife Refuge in 1881. I've lived around the corner most of my life and I never knew that. Well, you learn something new every day, they say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.