Balmain Town Hall, Post Office and Court House

Balmain Town Hall (1888) is attached to the Balmain Court House.
I have blipped this for the record, as I'm looking forward to seeing what is going to replace the telephone exchange on the left.

When I lived in Balmain in the late 60s/70s there was a bank of telephones fronting Darling St, you know the sort, 'Insert coin, press button A...'
In recent years reduced to one, now none.
In fact, the first house I lived in in Balmin had no phone, but we still managed to find our friends and get up to all sorts.
There was a lot of gathering and talking at the time:)

I'm rather hoping the corner of the Post Office will be exposed.
I note the sign 'Post and Telegraph Office' can now be seen.
I think it's very wishful thinking in such a prime piece of Sydney real estate.
Watch this space.

Lunch with a friend, then picked up Billy from the groomers, to discover he'd been shaved.
Top to tail.

Neither of us is happy about it. and he keeps curling up, I suspect because he feels so exposed.
Or maybe I'm reading too much into it:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.