Waiting for Euan

Storm Dennis is already playing havoc with our event planning for this weekend so my thoughts are not on blipping today.

Occasionally I pass through Becky's old bedroom to advance the heating or take out towels from the airing cupboard.  When I do, I often have a chat with the teddies sitting on her chest of drawers, which have various  ages, origins and owners.  From the left is a bear given to me on a distant birthday by my students when I was still teaching.  The seal always invokes an emotional memory of a very small Jenny clutching it on the ferry back from the Isle of Arran, upset because she didn't want to go home.  I can't recall where the rabbit came from but, pride of place in the corner is Honey. 

When Becky was young she loved looking in the window of the Lakeland Bear shop in Bowness when we visited the Lake District.  By devious means we found out which was her favourite bear, dressed in walking gear with leather clogs, and Tony took the girls off to the Beatrix Potter Museum whilst I bought the teddy and hid it in the boot of the car.  Honey is much loved and it was a big decision whether or not to take her to the States.  She remains here and keeps the others in line!

Next to Honey is perhaps the oldest bear here Joe (after my Grandad), bought by me with my cigarette coupons in those bad old days when I smoked.  I've just noticed that he is in need of a nose!

Just as Jenny was a huge penguin fan, Becky loved Superted so we have a superted found in a charity shop; Spottyman and, on the furthest right a Superted made for Becky by Granny Elsie.  He came with a furry outer suit which he could whip off to reveal his super uniform when the world was in danger from Texas Pete!


So who is left?  Hobbler Bear, our running club mascot, complete with his t-shirt which disguises my poor knitting and sewing skills.  He's a bit floppy is Hobbler, but that probably reflects my running style pretty accurately!   Hiding behind Hobbler is the newest of the gang, earned when several of us Hobblers did the Colour Run for a hospice a couple of years ago.  The camel doesn't have a name but is very special because he was given to me by the girls when pal Helen and I did the Nile Bike Ride for Mencap back in 2002.  He sat in pride of place on my handlebar bag throughout the ride.  I think the beanbag lizard found his own way here and the last of the gang is my brain cell......Yes I have just the one, which I used in my teaching (one of a series of Giant Microbes!)

The teddies haven't had much to do in recent years, but hopefully one day when Euan comes to visit.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.