It's a Beautiful Life

By ArtyFi

Inchmickery

It has been a grey and rather bleak day, but after lunch we decided we needed to get some fresh air and took a walk down to the Silverknowes esplanade and along to Cramond. I didn't think I would get any decent photos today but as it turned out, it has been difficult to choose which one to put up! The final choice is Inchmickery. As we approached the sea I thought I would take a photo of this island that lies in the Firth of Forth and looks like a battleship, when a lady walking her dog came into view. I decided to photograph the island with her and the dog in the frame. When I downloaded the photo I noticed that a seagull has rather helpfully and artistically flown above and in line with the island! I transferred the photo into black and white as I thought it portrayed the bleakness of the day more effectively. The woman was wearing a bright pink jacket and I actually wanted to keep the jacket in colour with the rest in black in white, but I couldn't make picmonkey do what I wanted. If I manage, I'll change the photo!

More info on the island (from Wikipedia):
Inchmickery is tiny, only 100 metres by 200 metres. During both World War I and World War II the island was used as a gun emplacement. The concrete buildings make the island look (from a distance) like a battleship. Although the island is now uninhabited much of this concrete superstructure remains largely intact. These buildings were used for filming scenes of the film Complicity.
The island is now an RSPB reserve, and is home to breeding pairs of Common Eider, Sandwich Terns and various gulls. It used to be a nesting site for the very rare Roseate Tern, but the roseate terns have now moved elsewhere in the Firth of Forth. There are exposed rocks off Inchmickery, known as the Cow & Calves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.