The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Thursday 13th February 2020)

Diary blip. In further Green News, my loft now houses an enormous battery and various other instruments to store all the energy that my solar panels generate but don't use. Some of it will be used at times that the panels aren't generating, such as at night, and some will be sold back to the grid using SocialEnergy software linked to the box in the blip.

Unfortunately it isn't on line yet as my conservatory roof was deemed too dangerous to use without scaffolding, so a day next week has been booked in for them to return with some so they can drop the necessary cabling down to the mains point. I later discovered that this had also meant turning off the inverter, which means my panels are generating nothing at all until this all happens. Nothing isn't complicated, ever.

I'm not planning to dispense with Archie just yet, but when the time is right I intend her replacement to be an electric vehicle that I will be able to charge from home overnight using my own stored electricity.

L.
13.2.2020 (2222 hr)

Blip #3144 (#2894 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2020 #026/265 + #012/100 Extras
Day #3611 (820 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2273 (#2114 + 159 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Recent Purchases series
Diary Blip series

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Etta James - W-O-M-A-N (recorded October 1955)
Etta James' first five albums are all included on a modestly-priced 2CD on the AVID R&B label that arrived in the post on this day. W-O-M-A-N was the Modern label B-side of That's All in 1955 and was included on a Crown label 1961 compilation called Miss Etta James. That album opens this set and was played by me on this day. Etta James was the principle songwriter of the song, which was an answer record to Muddy Waters' Mannish Boy, itself an answer record to Bo Diddley's I'm A Man, both from earlier in 1955.


One year ago:
Caen Hill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.