Rodents rule

By squirk

Having fun with fungi

I'm lucky to have an office close to Somerset House, which often has free exhibitions that I can nip to at lunchtime. Ann and I thoroughly enjoyed Mushrooms: The Art, Design and Future of Fungi. I hadn't read about it so was pleasantly surprised by the first exhibit, a collection of watercolours by Beatrix Potter that were delicately beautiful. I laughed at the video of a chap dressed as a fly agaric, enjoyed the mushrooms on toast (pictured), discovered that John Cage was a mushroom fan, and was curious about the burial suit (which was not for sale in the shop).

The title of the piece that's been blipped is "Digressions" by Hamish Pearch. "His lifelike resin and epoxy sculptures resemble fungi growing out of burnt toast – a fitting metaphor for creative inspiration. Here the mushroom is a relentless force coming out of nothingness."

I worked late and didn't have the energy to cook so I treated Fred to Thai dinner, remembering the opening times I posted yesterday. The summer rolls were absolutely delicious!

The extra pic shows Juno on high alert at breakfast because the larger ginger in the area, Bacon, is potentially going to visit the cat flap. Bacon can be seen in the background on top of the compost bin. He's a bit of a bully and is Juno's nemesis. Unfortunately, Fred and I like Bacon and are fond of giving him a shoogle, but we cannot do that when Juno is watching. That would be bad manners.

Rory update: he's home! Paws are crossed that his full recovery is swift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.