Love A Duck!

My mother used to say that St Valentine's Day was when the birds got married. With Storm Dennis forecast, Ollie dog and I went to Fishers Green this morning to see if we could find evidence. I was thinking of the elegant courtship of great crested grebes or the like.

No luck but when we were in the Bittern Hide a pair of mallards flew into view.  They soon started bobbing their heads up and down in unison and I knew that they were about to mate. You can see why it's called treading. Nice that the female was a willing participant. Many are raped or gang raped. 

Hope you've all had a happy day. MrQ bought a red rose for me and one for Ollie dog and we've celebrated with a bottle of champagne which I've kept well away from my laptop. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.