Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Progress

Back to the uncertain weather today, and a step or two closer to the realisation of the book I've been putting together. I pounded round the corner to the printer's this morning to choose the medium (aka the paper) on which it's to be printed, and to check the colour balance on the cover artwork. I then made my way (in the now pouring rain) to the other end of Argyll Street to try to find out the commission rates of our local independent book shop, only to find the place under siege by a couple of joiners who are undertaking the huge task of renewing the frontage. It's an old shop, and there has been considerable water penetration so that the whole thing needs radical surgery. I'm going back tomorrow ...

I had a lovely letter from an old friend - a snail mail letter - which I felt I had to respond to, with the result that it was almost 4pm before we got out for a walk. By this time the rain had stopped, and though we got rather wet, briefly, at the top of Glen Massan, we were able to enjoy the spectacle of the burn, swollen with snow melt and rainwater, thrashing its way down the gorge with a noise like an express train. I don't think I've ever seen it so full, and there was a couple of mallard ducks swimming serenely on a lake formed by floods in a field at the foot of the glen.

Blipping Stuart the patient printer in his office; my cover print-outs are lying on the table to the left and I'm getting excited as we reach the end of this particular road ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.