An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Sampson's Field - Snowbound

Parental duties today, down in the New Forest - did get out with Milo, my Dad's young Jack Russell up on the common behind.

My thoughts for something artistic and suggestive of snow soon evaporated into yet another postcard greetings card type of image. I won't apologise, though - I'm, as much as anyone, still on a honeymoon with this snowfall and today, the sun came out.

This is a view over the adjoining Avon Valley from the lane that leads from our farm to the common - and I always take a look out over the gate and take several pics. I don't think I've done a vertical shot before, not least a memorable one and one zooms in on all the little details within. There's always a horse or two in the paddocks, that are owned, by yes, the Sampson family.

Rather pleased that all I needed for all my shots was the 18-200mm Nikkor, with a polariser, when it suited. Less pleased that I have since spent ten minutes removing marked chromatic aberration, most noticeable around the horses' outlines. Trying this manually had no effect but conversely to two day's ago with this lens' distortion (uncorrected here) it cleared up fairly well on the auto correction. And, like 2 days ago, this image required a fair amount of extra sharpening.

Try it on 'large'

EXIF data seems to be incomplete - focal length is actually 26mm, iso 400 (& is on my file, so lost during Blip upload)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.