Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Yes we have no......

It's very common on the streets here to see men (and occasionally women) on bikes with enormous loads. Sometimes they also have a child and an extra adult on them too.
If you look at the extra which is this picture in its uncropped state, then you can see that the pillion passenger on the motor bike is sitting side saddle - which if you are wearing a sari, is of course the only way possible to sit. The motor bikes have a special footrest to allow this to happen. At least in this case there are only two people on the bike, I've seen families of four and occasionally five, on one.
Saturday today so no school, I met up with my dear friend Carrie for lunch. We've been friends since 1997 and our families have met too, so we had a lot of catching up to do. After lunch we went round to her house to see the work she has had done over the last couple of years. On the way home again we popped into a supermarket for some essentials then stopped at a roadside coffee stand - as one does!
This evening the plumber came and replaced the taps in my bathroom, or at least I hope he will at the moment they are just missing as he has taken them off and away. They've been faulty for years but this afternoon I wasn't able to turn one off at all, water poured at at full force everywhere!! I think the thread had gone, so now they are both being replaced, hooray! I must admit I do get fed up of the constant drip especially if I'm awake overnight, mind you ear plugs usually muffle it enough.

***Update, he didn't replace them just put new washers in and rethreaded the tap. For the first time since I my first visit here over 5 years ago the tap doesn't drip, and I can turn it off fully too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.