wrperry

By wrperry

A Winter Delight

I had read in the Washington Post a few days ago, that birders are trying to have a local property converted to an official park or wildlife sanctuary.  I was intrigued because it's close to home, and ebird was reporting a Great Horned Owl nest.  The land was a public golf course for years, but for some reason the owners pulled out, and the course now stands unused.  There are a couple of small bodies of water, many large oak and pine trees, and stretches that have the potential to become beautiful open spaces or meadows.
  
I would never have spotted the owl nest if a photographer wasn't positioned on the side of the path, 600mm lens pointed into the woods. The nest is very high up, and very far away, but without leaves on the trees, it can be seen.  I'm actually happy that it isn't more accessible, because the word is out and I'm sure there will be many visitors in the next few months. I was told this is the female and the male likes to hang out nearby.  Suzanne, if you see this, we will have to go when you go back.

I have also posted a photo of a downy enjoying a delicacy in the low bushes.  It looks like the remnants of an insect nest but I'm really not sure.

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.