Back home

Virgin Atlantic delayed their early evening flight from Antigua by five hours (at least) but fortunately we were travelling with BA and left on time, arriving into Gatwick at 7.03 a.m.

The final seven or eight minutes were extremely hairy as we were buffeted by Hurricane Dennis and I was waiting for the words “brace, brace, brace”, which fortunately never came. I was probably the only one on board who’d have been able to do it, the spaces are so narrow.

On the train just before 8 a.m. but had to get off at London Bridge and get the tube to St Pancras for the overground train to St Albans, which turned out to be the slowest fast train journey I’ve ever experienced. We were then bused to Bedford (engineering works), got a taxi and were home by 11.30 a.m.

So, flight 7 hours, then train, tube, train, bus, taxi 3.30 hours.
No wonder JJ has gone to bed for a nap. I just daren’t or I won’t wake until tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.