Sunshine on a Rainy Day

I woke to Storm Dennis in full flow. I listened to the bass thumps as gusts hurled themselves against the building, interspersed with the high pitched shriek as it caught a wire or edge. And all of that joined by the chorus of torrential rain / sleet. At times during the day it turned to a blizzard, but then we would get sunshine for half an hour before the rain / sleet returned.

My lads went down to the city centre, hoping to see Parasite - but it was sold out, so they saw Jo Jo Rabbit, which my youngest had seen before, but my eldest hadn't. 

After that, my eldest took the train back to Uni, while my youngest and I went up to Temple Newsam - the road is heavily flooded in places, but passable. The wind was very strong up there on the hill, and it was bitterly cold, but the sun came out. 

Came back, made curry, and I've half an hour respite now before I take my daughter back to York.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.