Plus ça change...

By SooB

Baking beans

I did no baking today. I ate no beans. And these are not baking beans. Well, sort of. Dried beans that are used to weigh down pastry are, I suppose, by definition 'baking beans' of a sort.

Anyway, all this is to say it's been a slow day. Early start... and then back to bed to sleep off tiredness (it was cold last night and I was much awake) and a sore tummy. Though sometimes I think I get 'poorly' just when my body is trying to tell me to get some more sleep. So I did, and felt marginally better. A bright blustery day - which turned to torrential rain as soon as it crossed my mind to cheer myself up with some gardening. So I didn't. Instead, I tackled TallGirl's high school application form, now that we've decided on which school she's going to. There is a long tricky section about "What do you expect from the school as regards your child's education". Hmmm. I doubt it'll be acceptable to write "for her to, you know, learn stuff". Requires some thought...

Mr B kindly did all the driving today so I actually didn't set foot outside. I did stand in the front door talking to a neighbour for a while - I didn't invite him in as he was just here to ask for money. I fear we have a battle ahead on our share of the expenses of co-ownership. I also fear that the cement will soon be dry on beam number one. Perhaps I should eat some beans to get my strength up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.