The unforgiving minute...

By Melsimel

Hand in Hand

"Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you".
[Carl Sandburg]



Plan A - was to go out and try to do some snowflake pictures.
ended up chained to a hot laptop for work all day : FAIL

Plan B - was to attempt some kind of 'foodie' still life, with natural lighting, steam rising etc
still chained to a hot laptop for work all evening : FAIL

Plan C - here you have an emergency blip.

When I'm casting around for some inspiration in the house, it's usually something relating to Monkey that i'll settle on.

When she was just 4 weeks old, I had someone come and take casts to make bronzes of her hands and feet. She was teeny, only 4lb at birth, and not much more at 4 weeks.

They're now on a little marble plinth, and I grin every single time they catch my eye. I'm so glad I had them done for her, because now - 5 years later, I only have the odd mitten, and photograph, to remind me of how tiny and vulnerable she once was. (You'd never believe it - independent little moose!).

These bronzes are tangible, tactile testaments to the fact that she was once my little, needful baby. And they're all the more precious for their constant reminder of the relentless passing of time.

And when I was considering my (wasted?) day today, that's what leapt to mind.

January 21st 2013. A day devoted entirely to work. A day i'll never get back.

Muppet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.