bubbles in a stream

"So you should view this fleeting world --
A star at dawn, a bubble in a stream,
A flash of lightning in a summer cloud,
A flickering lamp, a phantom, and a dream."**


As the days lengthen I feel like going further on  my walks, and today I took the path up to the hill behind our house, and brought my binoculars to see if there were any interesting birds. Most noticeable  was a large flock of redwings, and then a couple of magpies. I have never seen a magpie in our garden, but their territory seems to be getting nearer every year, so it can't be long before I do.

On the way home I had to cross a small burn, and as I stood in the middle of it, listening to the lovely musical sound of the water going over the stones, I felt very content. I took a lot of photos of the bubbles with differing shutter speeds. I liked this one, with the one rainbow bubble in which you can see my reflection and the trees..

**from the Diamond Sutra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.