Memories

I popped into town to pay in the refund cheque from the DVLA. The value of the cheque was £12.91. Parking cost £2.30 so I made just over a tenner on the deal (If I don't include the fuel, depreciation and my hourly rate). 

This pop-up shop is in premises previously occupied by a branch of Thomas Cook travel agents, now you'll see that the local museum are using it to hawk their wares. The museum itself is a couple of hundred yards away, Maidstone isn't very large, but you'd not know that unless you went looking for it because it's through the shopping centre. 

I get the reason for the little icons they've used; we have a famous dinosaur, the Civil War (Battle of Maidstone) and the VC is probably for Arthur Borton who was born and is buried not far from where I live. 

Anyways, what caught my eye was the tag line "Make your memories of our town last forever". I have lots of terrific memories from places around Europe and wider afield but this doesn't mention nice memories. I also have memories of having to pay £25 when I lost a parking token. I'm sure that people might remember where they were mugged. If your partner/significant other ended your relationship here you might remember our town forever. I wonder whether they might extend this to something like "Make your memories - the nicest kind - of our town last forever". Now I've posted this I'll sit back and wait for the council to give me a call to further explore my marketing ideas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.