earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The 2,500th Face

Days turn into weeks, which turn into months, which turn into years. These milestones appear with disturbing speed. I'm over two-thirds of the way to a decade!

I've written about my Face by Face project here often, mostly on occasion of blip days. There's not a lot more to be said at this point. I happened to be in Leeds, hoping to see Parasite but the showing we wanted was fully booked so we caught Jo Jo Rabbit instead. It was a worthy alternative.

There wasn't much time to find someone to talk to and it can be difficult in Leeds at lunchtime when everyone is in a rush. With a lot of people about too, the question always hangs in the air of why me rather than any of the other hundred-odd people about. But as a fan of the Saw Doctors, it was easy to approach Dolson, a born and bred Yorkshireman with an Irish heritage. It turned out that his brother is the real Saw Doctors fan. He was a singer, but Dolson suggested he might get arrested if he were to sing his songs now. They were of a particularly explicit variety of Irish rebel song! He got his unusual name courtesy of his uncle. His family have been on the internet and it appears to be unique. He was very amenable to a photo and we had a fascinating conversation.

And it is those conversations that are so important to me. Every single day I am forced to pop a hole in my bubble and talk to someone. I get reminded what it really means to be human. 

As you know, I let my portraits speak for themselves and keep my Face by Face journal very simple. Thank you to everyone who pops by to take an occasional look, thanks for the very lovely messages today - and the love, which I feel deeply honoured by -  and special thanks to my most dedicated supporters. You know who you are. I know who you are! I don't thank you enough.

Cheers guys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.