MissCharlotte

By MissCharlotte

Poetry and Norse

A pretty quiet day filled with reading of poetry, the discussion of poetry and Old Norse grammar (hate, hate, love!). I don't know why but I love studying the grammar of other languages, it was always my favourite part of learning German and I have missed the dative case - it is incredibly sad that I have a favourite case I know.

Poetry on the other hand I have serious issues with. I have never particularly engaged with any poetry and avoid it wherever possible, unless it's medieval narrative poetry which I really enjoy. This week though I am studying modernist poetry and my complete lack of interest is making things difficult. However, I will soldier on.

This is a picture of a beautiful lamp which used to belong to my Mum. It is a sphere of coloured glass lit from the inside which creates these wonderfully pretty patterns on the walls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.