Near the top of the Raining Stairs, Inverness.

The castle may have been all tarted up, and kept in good looking nick for the tourists, but the stair area is distinctly scruffy these days. I chatted with the fella (barely visible) coming up the stairs. He and his wife run a guest house in the street at the top (Ardconnel Street), but always recommends his guests take the longer more attractive route, rather than mention this way.

I rented a bedsit in the street back in the late eighties. A dark, cold and damp dive of a place. I'd never seen such a narrow bed, and was convinced I'd fall off in the night... until I sat on it. It sagged so much, it could have been a hammock. I used to compare it with Loch Ness - long, narrow, and very deep. Cold too. The place was cheap, and all I could afford. Close to the town centre, so no need for any transport other than my feet. Monday night was washing night, and off to the laundrette I'd go with a large blue bag, very like those ones from Ikea. Then back home to do the ironing.

After paying my rent; "Community Charge," or Poll Tax (it was that long ago); electricity; food; laundrette; and monthly swimming pool season ticket, I'd a maximum of £5 left over each week. I could either save it or purchase a luxury item, such as a: newspaper; Mars Bar; pint; birthday card/present; visit the cinema; or put it towards a bus ticket to see my folks. Times were somewhat tough for the year and a half I was there. This was also where I became used to not having a TV, something that to this day I don't miss at all.

The swimming pool wasn't a luxury, more a necessity. Needed to do something in my spare time, along with a regular darned good shower. The bathroom at the bedsit was shared with another bloke, and he wisely never used the bath. I did. Once... There was zero heating in there, and I seem to recall there being ice "in the pan" on some occasions too. I used to wash and shave in my kitchen sink, with water heated in a kettle.

One of the reasons I joined the RNXS (Royal Naval Auxiliary Services), was just to be able to get out/away and do something different at weekends. Also meant you'd receive some minor payment too. I had the distinct impression that a fair proportion of the other local members were in it to escape their partners, and get up to various types mischief they couldn't/wouldn't do at home. We did have a lot of fun, it has to be said.

This was also when I stopped taking photographs. That was just too much of a luxury I couldn't afford. It was a good few years before I started again, and all with gear I'd bought in the early 80's. I kept using that gear, without adding to it, until buying my first digital camera in about 2005. GAS (Gear acquisition syndrome) has been something of an issue in more recent years, though I have sold a fair amount too.

Enough rambling and memories for tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.