Fernando Cohen

By fernandocohen

From above

What is important is that you take pictures of people who are part of the town you are a part of.

I have a centre. My centre is my friends, my accomplices. Is this evidence of a lack of an adventurous spirit? Perhaps it is a lack of confidence in myself to go and conquer the world. I am rather lost in a foreign land. I don't speak languages and I hate not being able to communicate with people. Then, there is this idea I have of being the overbearing tourist, which I'm ashamed of. I once found myself in Portugal, with many children asking me for money because I was having my coffee outside. I was really ashamed. So I don't do my travelling this way. If I have to take cover behind the picturesque or the exotic in order to do something, my images are of no value. The first photos of palm trees were striking. The thirtieth picture of palm trees or the thirtieth carnival of Rio - God, it is boring to see! We just don't give a damn after a while. Why should I have to photograph in a foreign place when people there do it very well themselves?
Photography is very subjective. Photography is not a document on which a report can be made. It is a subjective document. Photography is a false witness, a lie. People want to prove the universe is there. It is a physical image that contains a certain amount of documentation, which is fine, but it isn't evidence, a testimony upon which a general philosophy can be based. People can say, "Here is a fellow who has seen such and such facets of life, but not the whole."

Robert Doisneau

Dialogue with Photography, Paul Hill & Thomas Cooper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.