Freedoms

Today started really well. 

I had a great sleep, then suddenly discovered it is now daylight about 7am, and at the same time realised we had dry, cold, sunny weather. 

Somehow it all started to go downhill in the afternoon, and I became quite fractious. It is probably that working in UK politics right now is - to borrow someone else’s metaphor - like licking p*ss off a nettle. 

It involves a lot of hard work to stay positive, and sometimes I just do not have the energy. 

However, I have a positive Blip to - hopefully - bring a positive close to the day. 

My spring break next month is a week in Tunisia, where I have never been before. I looked online for a guidebook, and all I found was a 10 year old Lonely Planet for £50. It might even have been 2nd hand, and to begin with I thought I was in the rare books section by mistake. 

Anyway, on Saturday I thought to look for French language guidebooks, with that being the country’s 2nd language. Sure enough, I found two on Amazon France for about €20 altogether. I remembered I had an account with Amazon France, fought my way into it, and bingo! Done deal. 

They were both delivered yesterday - normal delivery and not even expedited. 

I could write something now about the benefits of the EU’s free movement of goods, but…  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.