Zone Tracy

By zonetracy

Walk 3/50 Sherwood: Old Town

Walk 3/50 Sherwood: Old Town 1.0 mile

Sherwood Oregon was platted (not sure i like that word but that's what this book uses) in 1889. In 1911 there was a fire that started in a livery stable that destroyed much of downtown. I started out at the site of one of the state's largest Atlas Cedars. Saw the old Sherwood Hotel. The Graves Cannery processed fruits picked by child laborers from 1918-1971. I then walked through Stella Olsen Memorial Park, saw a duck family and a blue heron. Then worked my way back into town to the 150 square foot Rudy Olsen Gas Pump Park. I wonder if there is a record for the country's smallest park because it is really small and sits between the sidewalk and the road on a side street. Very strange to me but cute :) Afterword I went to Sesame Donuts for a hot chocolate... it was a chilly day!

The pictures aren't the best since all i had was my iPhone. I don't like to take my good camera when i'm by myself in a new area. I'm always a little afraid someone is going to rob me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.