The Day

Bassoon lesson this morning, some jobs etc. Then at lunchtime we jumped on a train to London.... a big day had arrived. I thought very very hard when her teacher said she wanted to put Katie on pointe and took lots of opinions. I know it’s an opinion that many people very important to me didn’t share with her teachers. But we went to Freed and every senior member of staff in the shop came and assessed her because of her age. Her shoes were perhaps the most carefully fitted that day, with four different staff members verifying they fitted well and that Katie was not “only just” ready to do this, but that they thought she would do well & was plenty strong enough. I was reassured to hear they had sent away children that day who were not ready. And they laughed at me about how nervous I looked.

Katies face was amazing, it was so precious to share the experience with J too.

We had a very brief bit lovely time at her house for food and a play before we got the train home again! We were back by 11, despite not leaving home til 12 that day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.