Blood brothers

I thought I'd picked the worst time to go for a dog walk this afternoon as the freezing rain started.  But then the sunshine appeared and then the rainbow.  I only had my phone with me but the colours really were startling.

I've learned a lot about record keeping on blood groups today.  It all started when Ben had to provide his in his application to Seoul Uni and Martin assumed I would know it (as I'm the keeper of all things medical to do with the children).

I didn't have a record anywhere (I access my records online) and after phoning the GP I established that the only reason anyone in this country would know their blood group is if they give blood or if they have been pregnant.  Well, I've been pregnant and I vaguely remembered that there was an incompatibility between my blood and one (or more) of the children's as I have one sort and they another.  So it turns out I have to make a written request, with a copy of my passport, to the hospital to access my records as they are not shared with the GP.

So I've made the request and asked the boys to also make the request  in the hope that their blood group is also recorded and we'll see what happens.

There's no longer any urgency since Ben invented a blood group on his application as there wasn't time to get one done (his GP is in Leeds and he is in Linton), but I'll make sure he knows it correctly before he goes, either this way or by a self testing kit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.