Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Essentials

I waited 5 minutes for this man to move but he wouldn't so I just ended up taking the picture. The slogan about socks seems very odd until you realise that most people here wear open flip flop type sandals. Some do wear trainers and men often wear more formal shoes but the vast majority wear flipflop so socks are an unknown and unneeded garment.
Today a met a young girl from the US who married a local Indian man about 4 years ago and came here to live. It's a difficult thing to do, White people here are so very noticeable and there's is a feeling always of being 'on show'. Which I am used to but must be difficult to live with full time. She's doing well and it was nice to chat to her.
I have only one more week left at school, it's hard to realise I've been in Tirunelvelli for two weeks already and India for two and a half. The time just rattles by while I am here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.